ZWP Anlagenrevision GmbH • Südstraße 1 • 66701 Beckingen • Germany

BetoFLUX

In the transport infrastructure, prestressed concrete masts have been used extensively for decades for overhead lines for railways and trams.

Due to the combination of static and dynamic loads with a partially corrosive chemical environment, ferromagnetic prestressing steels can be damaged by stress corrosion. The area most affected is on the ground where corrosion is exacerbated as a result of animal waste, road salt or electrical leakage currents


Recently, there have been incidents where concrete masts have collapsed without any significant external impact. The damage images point to stress corrosion. Corrosion can only be detected with the naked eye once it has reached an advanced stage due to the concrete covering.

 

Current tests are associated with mechanical loads, which can lead to additional damage. X-ray testing is not possible without a great deal of effort to comply with radiation protection guidelines.

Magnetic flux leakage testing

Magnetic flux leakage testing is used to detect surface cracks in ferromagnetic materials. The method is based on the same physical effect that is also used in magnetic particle testing, which is widely used and standardized in the steel processing industry: If you apply an external magnetic field to sharp-edged gaps in the surface of a component, additional magnetic dipoles will form which cause a magnetic stray field close to the surface. This can be used to perform non-destructive failure tests on ferromagnetic prestressing steels.

BetoFlux – a mobile handheld testing system

The BetoFlux test system is a handheld device that is moved around the concrete mast in the peripheral direction. It has been developed for mobile use. A permanent magnet yoke integrated into the testing system magnetizes the prestressing steel in the concrete. The course of the magnetic field lines depends on how damaged the prestressing steel is and reveals areas that are affected by cracks. Magnetization by means of permanent magnets provides an energy-saving solution in mobile applications.
A sensor array consisting of 32 low-noise Hall sensors detects the magnetic stray field signals that are digitized in the test system and transferred to a notebook PC via a USB connection. The USB also provides power which means that the test system can be powered entirely from the notebook battery. Special filters make it possible to highlight the cracks and the prestressing steel arrangement. This means that the state and presence of the prestressing steel can be evaluated.

Avantages
  • Quick testing
  • Intuitive representation of the arrangement and condition of the ferromagnetic prestressing steels
  • Designed especially for mobile use
  • Easy to adapt to various concrete mast diameters
  • Less time and effort required in comparison to alternative testing methods (e.g. X-ray)
  • No risk of causing additional damage to the mast

The BetoFlux research project is funded as part of the ZIM Program of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (BMWi) on the basis of a resolution passed by the German Bundestag. It was developed in close cooperation with ZWP Anlagenrevision GmbH in Beckingen.

ZWP Anlagenrevision GmbH

 
ZWP Anlagenrevision GmbH
Südstraße 1
66701 Beckingen
 
Fon: +49 (0) 68 35 / 40 96
Fax: +49 (0) 68 35 / 6 88 11
E-Mail:  info@zwpar.de

ZWP Anlagenrevision GmbH • Südstraße 1 • 66701 Beckingen • Deutschland

BetoFLUX

In der Verkehrsinfrastruktur werden Spannbetonmasten u. a. für die Oberleitungen von Eisen- oder Straßenbahn seit Jahrzehnten in größerem Umfang eingesetzt.

Aufgrund der Kombination statischer und dynamischer Lasten mit einem teilweise korrosiven chemischen Milieu können die ferromagnetischen Spannstähle durch Spannungsrisskorrosion geschädigt werden. Betroffen ist hauptsächlich der Übergang zum Erdreich, wo Tierexkremente, Streusalz oder elektrische Kriechströme die Korrosion begünstigen.


In jüngster Zeit kam es ohne nennenswerte Fremdeinwirkung zu Vorfällen durch umgestürzte und abgebrochene Betonmasten. Die Schadensbilder deuten auf Spannungsrisskorrosion hin. Die Korrosion ist aufgrund der Betonüberdeckung mit dem bloßen Auge erst im fortgeschrittenen Stadium zu erkennen.

 

Derzeitige Prüfungen sind mit mechanischen Belastungen verbunden, was zu zusätzlichen Schädigungen führen kann. Eine Prüfung mittels Röntgenstrahlung ist nicht ohne hohen Aufwand zur Einhaltung von Strahlenschutzrichtlinien möglich.

Magnetische Streuflussprüfung

Die magnetische Streuflussprüfung dient zum Nachweis rissartiger Oberflächenfehler in ferromagnetischen Werkstoffen. Das Verfahren beruht auf demselben physikalischen Effekt, der auch bei der in der stahlverarbeitenden Industrie weit verbreiteten und standardisierten Magnetpulverprüfung ausgenutzt wird: An scharfkantigen Unterbrechungen der Oberfläche eines Bauteils bilden sich bei Anlegen eines externen Magnetfeldes zusätzliche magnetische Dipole, die ein oberflächennahes magnetisches Streufeld hervorrufen. Dieses Verhalten kann zur zerstörungsfreien Fehlerprüfung an ferromagnetischen Spannstählen ausgenutzt werden.

BetoFlux – ein mobiles Hand-Prüfsystem

Als Handgerät, das in Umfangsrichtung um den Betonmast geführt wird, ist das Prüfsystem »BetoFlux« für den mobilen Einsatz entwickelt worden. Mit einem im Prüfsystem integrierten Permanentmagnet-Joch wird der Spannstahl im Beton magnetisiert. Der Verlauf der magnetischen Feldlinien hängt vom Schädigungsgrad des Spannstahls ab und zeigt von Rissen betroffene Stellen an. Die Magnetisierung über Permanentmagnete stellt im mobilen Einsatz eine Energie sparende Lösung dar.
Ein Sensorarray, bestehend aus 32 rauscharmen Hallsensoren, detektiert die magnetischen Streufeldsignale, die im Prüfsystem digitalisiert und mittels einer USB-Verbindung an einen Notebook-PC übertragen werden. Die Stromversorgung erfolgt ebenfalls über USB, so dass das Prüfsystem vollständig vom Notebook-Akku versorgt werden kann. Spezielle Filter ermöglichen sowohl eine Hervorhebung von Rissen als auch der Spannstahlanordnung und erlauben somit, sowohl das Vorhandensein als auch den Zustand der Spannstähle zu bewerten.

Vorteile
  • Schnelle Prüfung
  • Intuitive Darstellung der Anordnung und des Zustandes der ferromagnetischen Spannstähle
  • Speziell für den mobilen Einsatz konzipiert
  • Einfache Anpassung an unterschiedliche Betonmastdurchmesser
  • Geringer Aufwand verglichen mit alternativen Prüfverfahren (z. B. Röntgen)
  • Keine Gefahr der zusätzlichen Schädigung des Mastes

Das zugrundeliegende Forschungsvorhaben BetoFlux wird gefördert im Rahmen des ZIM-Programms des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages. Die Entwicklung erfolgte in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der ZWP Anlagenrevision GmbH in Beckingen.

ZWP Anlagenrevision GmbH

 
ZWP Anlagenrevision GmbH
Südstraße 1
66701 Beckingen
 
Fon: +49 (0) 68 35 / 40 96
Fax: +49 (0) 68 35 / 6 88 11
E-Mail:  info@zwpar.de